Ian Fleming

Anniversary of US publication of Moonraker [1955]

September 20th, 2018 by

Ian Fleming’s third James Bond book, Moonraker, was first published in the United States by Macmillan on 20th September 1955. It had been published in the UK by Jonathan Cape earlier the same year, on 5th April.

>> read article

Anniversary of Ian Fleming’s death [1964]

August 12th, 2018 by

James Bond’s creator, one time naval intelligence officer, journalist and author Ian Lancaster Fleming, died of a heart attack in the early hours of 12th August 1964, his only son’s birthday. After a lifetime of heavy drinking and smoking and a reluctance to cut down on the vices he so much enjoyed, Fleming collapsed after dining at […]

>> read article

Anniversary of Octopussy & The Living Daylights publication in UK [1966]

June 23rd, 2018 by

Ian Fleming’s 14th and final James Bond book, Octopussy & The Living Daylights, was first published in the UK on 23rd June 1966 by Jonathan Cape. When originally published it consisted of two short stories about James Bond. The Living Daylights in particular stands out as a taught mini thriller. Current editions of the book also […]

>> read article

A celebration of Ian Fleming on the anniversary of his birth

May 28th, 2018 by

Today marks the anniversary of the birth Ian Fleming, the author who introduced the world to James Bond in Casino Royale and went on to write a total of fourteen James Bond books. Born in Mayfair on 28 May 1908, during the war Fleming excelled as assistant to the Director of Naval Intelligence. In this capacity he […]

>> read article

Birthday of Ian Fleming [1908]

May 28th, 2018 by

Ian Fleming, wartime intelligence officer, journalist and creator of James Bond, was born in London on 28th May 1908.

>> read article

Anniversary of The Spy Who Loved Me publication in UK [1962]

April 16th, 2018 by

Ian Fleming’s 10th James Bond book, The Spy Who Loved Me, was published on 16th April 1962 by Jonathan Cape. The Spy Who Loved Me is an oddity in that it is written in the first person from a female perspective and James Bond appears in the last third of the novel. Read more about […]

>> read article

Anniversary of Casino Royale publication in UK [1953]

April 13th, 2018 by

Ian Fleming’s 1st James Bond book, Casino Royale, was published on 13th April 1953 by Jonathan Cape. Casino Royale is the first James Bond book by Ian Fleming and sees 007 sent to a town in northern France to bankrupt a corrupt Russian agent at cards. Read more about Casino Royale

>> read article

Anniversary of For Your Eyes Only publication in UK [1960]

April 11th, 2018 by

Ian Fleming’s 8th James Bond book, For Your Eyes Only, was published on 11th April 1960 by Jonathan Cape. Ian Fleming’s first deviation from the traditional James Bond formula, with a series of five short stories following his work on aborted TV series. Read more about For Your Eyes Only

>> read article

Anniversary of From Russia, With Love publication in UK [1957]

April 8th, 2018 by

Ian Fleming’s 5th James Bond book, From Russia, With Love, was published on 8th April 1955 by Jonathan Cape. A Russian cipher clerk plans on defecting with a top secret cipher machine after she falls in love with 007’s photo. It’s so obviously a trap. But for what? Read more about From Russia, With Love

>> read article

Anniversary of Moonraker publication in UK [1955]

April 5th, 2018 by

Ian Fleming’s 3rd James Bond book, Moonraker, was published on 5th April 1955 by Jonathan Cape. Soon after 007 is asked by M to warn off a card cheat at Blades, Bond is sent to investigate an incident at the Moonraker plant owned by Sir Hugo Drax. Read more about Moonraker

>> read article