The James Bond Books by John Gardner

In 1981 John Gardner was asked by Glidrose Productions (now Ian Fleming Publications) to write a series of new James Bond novels.  The former Royal Marine had been a successful author since the 1960s, firstly with a series of light hearted thrillers and later with more series spy novels.

Gardner’s first James Bond book was Licence Renewed (1981) and he followed that up with a total of 14 novels and two film novelizations before retiring from the job in 1996, after which Raymond Benson took his place.

Licence Renewed (1981)

For Special Services (1982)

Icebreaker (1983)

Role of Honour (1984)

Nobody Lives for Ever (1986)

No Deals, Mr. Bond (1987)

Scorpius (1988)

Win, Lose or Die (1989)

Licence to Kill (1989) – film novelization

Brokenclaw (1990)

The Man from Barbarossa (1991)

Death Is Forever (1992)

Never Send Flowers (1993)

SeaFire (1994)

GoldenEye (1995) – film novelization

COLD (1996) – in the US the title was Cold Fall

Tags: ,