Birthday of ‘Q’ Desmond Llewelyn [1914]

Desmond Llewelyn

Photo: public domain

Desmond Llewelyn, who played the much loved boffin Q in 17 James Bond films between 1963 and 1999, was born  in Newport on 12th September 1914.

Llewelyn first played Q in the second Bond movie, From Russia With Love (1963), and reprised the role in every film until The World In Not Enough (1999), with the exception of Live And Let Die (1973).

His full list of 007 films is as follows:

From Russia with Love (1963)
Goldfinger (1964)
Thunderball (1965)
You Only Live Twice (1967)
On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (1969)
Diamonds Are Forever (1971)
The Man with the Golden Gun (1974)
The Spy Who Loved Me (1977)
Moonraker (1979)
For Your Eyes Only (1981)
Octopussy (1983)
A View to a Kill (1985)
The Living Daylights (1987)
Licence to Kill (1989)
GoldenEye (1995)
Tomorrow Never Dies (1997)
The World Is Not Enough (1999)

Desmond Llewelyn died in 1999 following a car accident.

Like this article? Join our free 007 newsletter and get the latest on Bond 25 and other James Bond news by email.

Leave a Reply.



Comment Please keep your comment on topic or we'll remove it.

Tags: ,