Ian Fleming

The James Bond books

Ian FlemingIan Fleming ensured his immortality when he sat down while on holiday in Jamaica and started to write his first novel, allegedly to take his mind of his imminent marriage to Ann Rothermere in 1952.

The book was Casino Royale and by introducing the world to his hero, James Bond, Fleming created the most enduring icon of the 20th century.

His writing style was influenced heavily by his career as a journalist, full of detail that managed to ground the more fantastic elements in reality, even when that detail turned out, on occasion, to be incorrect.

2008 marks the centenary of Ian Fleming’s birth an event that is being celebrated by events ranging from a new James Bond book to an exhibition at the Imperial War Museum.

While the literary character has long been overshadowed by his cinematic incarnation, it is time to redress the balance and introduce more of the book-reading world to Fleming’s works.

Follow the links below to read more about the world of James Bond from the pen – or at least typewriter – of Ian Fleming.

James Bond novels

Casino Royale (1953)

Live And Let Die (1954)

Moonraker (1955)

Diamonds Are Forever (1956)

From Russia With Love (1957)

Doctor No (1958)

Goldfinger (1959)

For Your Eyes Only (1960)

Thunderball (1961)

The Spy Who Loved Me (1962)

On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (1963)

You Only Live Twice (1964)

The Man With The Golden Gun (1965)

Octopussy And The Living Daylights (1966)


The Diamond Smugglers

Thrilling Cities

Children’s books

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

Articles related to Ian Fleming

Ian Fleming’s early life

European Education

Pre-war years

Naval Intelligence

Operation Ruthless

Introduction to Jamaica

Return to civilian life

The birth of James Bond

The road to James Bond on the big screen

American success

Failing marriage

The final years

If you liked this article please share below: